Geographical features of Japan

Japan is located in the eastern part of Asia and is surrounded by the sea of Japan in the west and the Pacific ocean in the east; stretching from sea of Okhotsk in the north and East China sea in the south.

Japan is known as the ‘Land of the Rising Sun’, and is an island country which is divided into 47 prefectures, and is further bifurcated into 4 categories; Ke, To, Fu and Dou. Tokyo is the capital of Japan and has a population of around 37 million. 90% of the Japanese population lives in either Tokyo, Osaka and Nagoyo.

Photo by Bagus Pangestu on

There are four main islands, namely: Honshu, Kyushu, Hokkaido and Shikoku. And there are around 6,847 remote islands as well that are located on the southern and eastern part of the main island. Japan is divided into 8 regions from the north to south, namely:

  • Hokkaidou
  • Touhoku region
  • Kantou region
  • Chuubu region
  • Kansai region
  • Chuugoku region
  • Shikoku
  • Kyuushu

Touhoku region has 6 prefectures in it, Kantou region has 7, Chuubu region has 9 prefectures, Kansai region has 7, Chuugoku region has 5 prefectures, Shikoku has 4 and Kyuushu has 8 prefectures in it.

Japan is covered with about 66% of forests and is mostly ragged and mountainous. It is located near the ‘Ring of Fire’ which is a Volcanic zone near the Pacific ocean. Ring of Fire is a region around much of the edges of the Pacific ocean which is extremely prone to volcanic eruptions and earthquakes.

Photo by Evgeny Tchebotarev on

The climate of Japan varies from humid continental in the north and humid subtropical in the south. Hokkaido witnesses long winters and cool summers and the climate on the Pacific coastal area experiences humid climate.

The population of Japan is 126.3 million and is the 11th most populous country in the world.