Indian Constitution

The constitution of India is considered to be the supreme law of India , it lays down the basic principle on which the government and the people of the country are suppose to operate. The Indian constitution is one of the longest constitution written and is derived from different constitutions of the world, some of them include-USA, Canada, Australia,Russia, France and many more. The exclusivity of the constitution is because of the various communities it has accommodated in it’s framework.

The constitution of India was ratified on 26th November 1949 by  the Constituent Assembly, which was elected by elected members of the provincial assemblies. The 389-member assembly (reduced to 299 after the partition of India) took almost three years to draft the constitution holding eleven sessions over a 165-day period. The assembly was lead by Dr. B.R. Ambedkar and the constitution came into effect from 26th January 1950. The constitution declares India as a sovereign, socialist, secular and democratic republic. The constitution has 395 articles in 22 parts and 8 schedules